What are the different mutual fund categories?

Mutual funds are identified by their specific investment mandates and the types of assets they hold. In Canada, mutual funds are classified into 35 specific categories within the following five groupings:

  • Cash and Cash Equivalent funds
  • Fixed Income funds
  • Balanced funds
  • Equity funds
  • Sector funds

In addition to these five groups, there are also Specialty funds that do not fit into any of the above groups and also funds of funds or portfolio funds (a combination of individual mutual funds within one mutual fund).

Related Questions